Alternator Assembly

Well I had lots of fun putting the alternator back together as well. I’m not sure if it really had to do with the powder coat but let’s just say I had a lot of “joy” putting it back together

I ended up grinding out the front housing so that it wasn’t as tight of a fit. After I had everything back together and that bad boy spinning freely, I realized that I messed up the threads on the shaft for the pulley nut

Good thing I had a bunch of spare parts, because after about 1 hour of trying to correct the threads, I pulled it all apart again and replaced the shaft with one from my other alternator.

Oh.. and it took forever to realize that there was a pin-hole on the back housing that is used to hold the contacts back out of the way so that you can get the shaft in. Let’s just say there were some choice words being used in the garage

And another fun fact. I realized yesterday that the bracket that holds the 06 power steering pump is different than the 02.. Not just the pump is different. So the new 06 bracket is going to have to go off for powder coating.

Here are a couple of shots of it all installed in the car with all new OEM bolts/screws.

And one of the heat shield:

Leave a Reply

